30
Jul
08

Attempted Scamming In Progress

Craigslist.com is a WONDERFUL website that in my personal opinion kicks the arse out of corporate-america’s biggest garage sale that is ebay. I went there the other day looking for a new (used) car. Having said that I must now say that it is the secret lair for scam artists, especially ones that aren’t very good at it. Read the following email I was sent and tell me who in their right mind would respond to this nonsense.

Hello,

As I told you in my first e-mail, I have some personal problems and I can’t manage the sale so I prearranged the deal with MoneyBookers and my
presence isn’t necessary. The car is in their possession
ready for delivery.I also made a photobucket album so you can see more
pictures (http://s523.photobucket.com/albums/w356/patrickrathburn/) You have
5 days to test and inspect the car. So if you want to make this deal I
need the following details from you: full name and address
shipping address
phone # After I will have all this details I will forward them to
MoneyBookers and I will proceed the order. MoneyBookers will contact you with
all the details that you need to complete this deal and also to see
that i am covered by them and that I am legit seller. Waiting your
email with the requested details.
Regards!!

Well, Mr. Patrick Rathburn it appears you are the worst scam artist of all time. Although I’m not sure how else you were planning on getting my money I sure hope you didnt expect me just to send it to some sketchy web site without ever seeing the damn car. And why would you need my address?? Lame.

Turns out that this car was posted all over the United States for sale, a simple google search showed that. Dumbass. So I told him I reported him and that I was depressed that he couldn’t have done any better to get my money. Criminals suck these days, wheres the Joker when you need him?

P.s. if you went to that link you will have found that yes it was a BMW and yes I really want one.


3 Responses to “Attempted Scamming In Progress”


  1. 1 Judi
    September 20, 2008 at 12:29 pm

    Travis~

    I am a mobile notary, and was contacted by a Patrick Rathburn to notarize a document for someone who was transferring title to a car to him a couple of weeks ago. I postponed my plans I had that evening to accommodate the time they needed me. He called me 3 times making the time later and later. I was on my way to the location (a rehab center), and 5 minutes before the appointment time, he calls and tells me he is cancelling. I told him he still has to pay the travel fee now, as disclosed on my website. He cost me my time (my entire evening) and my gas. Of course, none of this concerns you… I’m just venting. As you can guess, he has not mailed a check. I’m just curious if this is the same Patrick Rathburn you encountered. Do you know if he was in California (Orange County area)? I’m glad you are among the intelligent that sees right through these “scam-bags”!!

    Thanks for your help!

  2. October 14, 2008 at 1:24 am

    I have no idea if its the same person or not. I noticed that he was all over the map on Craig’s List; He had several locations with fake things for sale.

  3. 3 Patrick Rathburn
    January 16, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    Hi, my name is Patrick Rathburn. No, I am not the scam artist mentioned in these posts and as you can imagine I am not very happy about my name appearing here. Imagine if when googling your name it came up associated with some kind of rip off. I am guessing that you would not be very pleased either. Next time before posting, contact your local prosecutor or pursue some other avenue of redress before potentially sullying someone’s reputation. At least next time, mention where this person claims to be from and find out more information about them before entrusting them with anything including information. I kindly ask the webmaster for this blog to remove the name please. And since you are so fond of Craigslist compared to Ebay you might want to urge them to employ a very effective method that Ebay uses to weed out scam artists – it’s called the feedback system. It works quite well. Check it out. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

